Our Close add-on template is a great example of a typical CRM Add-on use-case. Highlights of the add-on design features are outlined below.
It is critical for a good first user experience to explain briefly what the add-on is, and what it is supposed to do, before the user has even configured anything.
The add-on will need to be authorized to the user’s account using either an API key or an Oauth flow. In the case of Close, an API key is used so the welcome screen explains how the user can obtain their API key and provides a link to get there.
This hand-holding is critical as confusion about what an API key is and where to find it can result in support incidents and frustrated users.
All settings are contained in a single card which can be configured at setup and accessed later from the menu.
It is often preferable to allow the user to decide how much related information to query as some of these API calls can be time consuming and users often prefer less information faster, especially since they always have the option to deep link to the app itself.
Display matching CRM records
If a lead or contact (in contact view) matches sender’s or primary recipient’s email address, info available will be displayed in the first section.
If no matching records are found in the CRM, the user is prompted to create one using the information from the email.
Create first opportunity
If you turned on creation of an initial opportunity in settings, if no leads match the opened email, you will have an option to create an opportunity bundled with the newly created lead.
Initial opportunity creation is available in lead view only!
Most of the lead and contact info can be edited directly in the add-on – and updates can be made incrementally without the need to enter full edit mode.
Close integration has a number of actions that you can perform on a matched lead or contact (they can be found on the topmost section of the display)
Multiple matching CRM records
If more than one lead matched the open email, you will be able to traverse results by clicking on back or forward arrow (leads and contacts are sorted by last updated time)
If you made changes in Close app or just want to get the most recent info after being offline for a while, just click on the refresh icons to query your account again.
Send bulk updates
By default, all updates made to lead or contact are applied immediately. If you turned off this feature in settings, you can make all the changes you need and then send them to your account when ready.
If you added one by mistake or a lead is no longer relevant, it can be removed. The add-on will ask you for confirmation to prevent accidental sensitive changes to your account.
View extra info
Lead or contact activities (sorted from newest to latest) are displayed in a dedicated section and can be incrementally fetched as needed (initially, 8 latest ones will be shown).
Each activity type has distinct representation and additional info to display if available (e.g. duration for calls, template name and deeplink for emails).
Invalid API key
If you provided an invalid API key or lost access to your account, the Add-on will promptly notify you and provide with helpful tips on how to proceed.
If your current plan doesn’t allow you to make more calls to Close API, you can wait until daily limit resets or upgade to a plan with a higher cap.